South Carolina Service Trip 2013 Journal Posts

SouthCarolinaBlog
Below are journal posts from some of the members of the South Carolina service trip 2013. Enjoy!

Monday, March 11th, 2013 – Cate Munkittrick ‘14
Well, today was my first day of actually doing service for Habitat. It definitely was not what I have expected in my head. I thought we would be in this little neighborhood out in the country, building a house. As it turned out, our first day was a bunch of little rehab projects on houses. At first, I was a little disappointed that we wouldn’t all be working together to create a house we could take pride in building. I had envisioned myself working under the sun, hammering away. Well the sun eventually came out today, which was a welcomed sight. And I realized that working on a bunch of little rehab projects was still making a significant difference in the Greenwood community, which is why I wanted to go on a service trip in the first place. We were able to interact with about four sets of homeowners and they were all so incredibly gracious for our work.

I had the pleasure of caulking windows for the first time today. Needless to say it was quite a sloppy job (Mike was polite to comment). I apologized to the homeowner, but he didn’t care how the window looked as long as it stayed in place. I realized how paradoxical this situation would be in my town. Most people who live there would flip out if they found out an inexperienced 21 year old girl was caulking their windows and leaving smudges everywhere. However, the homeowners in Greenwood were simply appreciative of the work being done, not caring (or not affording to care) of the quality of the job. This situation reminded me of how easy it can be to become obsessed with how you are perceived by others. It saddens me to see the length people in my town will go to just portray the ideal “well-to-do” appearance in terms of their homes and themselves. The homeowners in Greenwood reminded me of how much more important it is to connect with people on the personal level and not to try and live up to a superficial standard some people try to set.

Wednesday, March 13th, 2013 – Sean Brennan ‘14

(Dirt Road Anthem tune)

Greenwood Anthem

Chillin on Lindsey Road
Laid back swervin’ like Clyde Blizzard
Ridin’ dirty rollin’ out like wind
Barry’s tin sittin’ in the console
Memory lane up in the headlights
It got me reminding on them good times.
I’m turnin’ of a real life drive and that’s right
I’m hittin’ easy street with van times

Back on Monday Phoenix Street was the place to go
Load the vans up and hit the main road
Jump the curl, spread the word
Light the bonfire then call the crew
Barry’s dip and Larry’s pipe
Papa John n’ Mike were a few good men
Where you learned to shingle, paint and stomp too.

Better watch out for the boys in the crew
All this small town he said she said
Ain’t it funny how stories spread?
Like I know something y’all don’t know
Man painter Bob is getting old
You better mind your business man,
Watch your mouth
Before I have to know that loud mouth out
I’m tired of talking man y’all ain’t listening
That old Greenwood is what y’all missing?

(Chorus)
I sit back and think about them Greenwood days
The way we worked in the southern ways
And we like sweet tea and un-sweet too
And if its broke can there we fix it
I can tell y’all where to go
Down to the West Muster back in the woods
We do it different down here that’s right
But we sure do it good and we do it all night
So if you really want to know how it feels
To get off the road with vans and Dickinson logos
Jump on in and tell your friends
We’ll raise some hell where the city limit ends

(Chorus X2)

About dickinsoncommunityservice

Dickinson Community Services
This entry was posted in community services. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

